While on a flight to Cape Town God spoke to me (Please don’t cringe). I left Harare International Airport at 9:45am to Joburg and that morning I prayed I would not sit next to anyone. Rationale – I just wanted an empty space to myself. My prayer was not answered; a gentleman sat next to me and read his newspaper to Joburg. Next leg of the journey was Cape Town, same prayer as Harare, same answer as Harare. This time a young man sat next to me, Johan. He not only sat there but wanted to know my name. Added to that, he told me that “God loves me” – yes me – Willie Tafadzwa Chinyamurindi. He gave me a tract explaining God’s love, not only to me but to other passengers. Here we were mid-air and this young man was “unashamed of the gospel” (cf. Romans 1:16). A Mormon by faith, Johan had spent 3 years of his life as a missionary in Uganda and was returning home to Cape Town. After his “preaching” and “literature evangelism” escapade on the SAA flight, Johan sat quietly offered a prayer and started studying his bible & notes (see picture). I was impressed rather strangely I was ashamed (not the shame of Romans 1:16) but the one that asks the question “WOULD I HAVE DONE THE SAME IN PUBLIC?” God did not answer two prayers of empty seats for me BUT sent a young man to remind me “For I am not ashamed of the gospel of Jesus Christ” – even if Johan was white; a Mormon; younger than me and the fact that we were mid-air………Johan was UNASHAMED of the Gospel he believed. Check out these verses about being ashamed maybe you won’t be ashamed next time (cf. Romans 1:16; Mark 8:38; 1 Corinthians 1: 18; 2 Timothy 1:8; 2 Timothy 1:12).

Johan having a bible study mid-air

Leave a Reply

